International academy of television arts & sciences Foundation

The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation has its own Constitution, Officers and independent Board of Trustees.
Each year, the Foundation awards the Sir Peter Ustinov Television Scriptwriting Award. The competition is designed to motivate non-American novice writers under the age of 30, and to offer them the recognition and encouragement that might lead to a successful career in television scriptwriting. Entrants are asked to create a completed half-hour to one-hour English-language television drama script. The deadline for submissions is July 1st of the current year.

The winner will be flown to New York City to be presented with an award and a US$2,500 prize at the International Emmy® World Television Festival. The winning script will be read by actors in front of an audience at the Festival, and the winner will be invited to take part in the red carpet festivities at the International Emmy® Awards Gala.

The 2014 Competition is now closed.

Download an Application Form

Previous Ustinov Winners are:

2013 – Rosy Deacon (UK) Shards
2012 – Sophie Petzal (UK) Sanctioned
2011 Robert Goldsbrough (UK) The Forge
2010 Jason Spencer (Australia) Spirits of the Past
2009 – Claire Tonkin (Australia) Me & Mine
2008 – Jez Freedman (UK) The Storyteller
2007 – Felicity Carpenter (Australia) Touching People
2006 – Nimer Rashed (UK) The Great McGinty
2005 – John Allison (UK) Distant Relatives
Caroline Doherty (South Africa) Passion Gap
Jo Kasch (Australia) Upstream
2002 – Howard Hunt (UK) Lie of the Land
2001 – Colm Maher (Ireland) True Story
2000 – Sylke Rene Meyer (Germany) Who is Anna Walentynowicz?
1999 – Glenn Weller (Australia) Beautiful Music
1998 – Tatyana Murzakova (Russia) Smile of the King 


"I do not have enough good things to say about the Sir Peter Ustinov Award. I know that as someone who won a writing competition you'd think that finding the right words would be my strong point but it's hard to sum up exactly what the award has meant to me. I sent my script off on a whim – it was the day of the deadline and I almost didn't bother, not daring to think it could ever win. But it did. Since then, the award has given me the most unbelievable start, helping me find an agent, launch me as a writer and connecting me with producers and directors from all around the world. It's completely spoilt me for the rest of my career. But with this award sitting on my desk, it's hard to mind. If you fit the criteria and have a script, then enter. You have absolutely nothing to lose and so, so much to gain." 

2013 Sir Peter Ustinov Television Scriptwriting Award Winner – Rosy Deacon (UK) Shards

Copyright © 2014 International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. All rights reserved.