International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Press Release>

Canada Dominates with 4 Nominations First Time Emmy® Nomination for Kenya & Japan

New York, February 16th, 2012 -  The International Academy  of Television Arts & Sciences announced today that nominees from 7 countries will  compete for this year's International Digital Emmy® Awards.  The awards ceremony will take place, during MIPTV's Opening night festivities on Sunday, April 1, in Cannes at the Martinez Hotel.

There are 12 nominees in 3 categories, Digital Program:  Children & Young People; Digital Program: Fiction and Digital Program: Non-Fiction. The full list of Nominees from:  Australia, Brazil, Canada, Japan, Kenya, Sweden and the United Kingdom follows this release.
"The technological strides we see every year in digital content delivery are constantly providing production tools to enhance the viewer's experience. We congratulate our nominees for their creative and technological achievements in this flourishing sector of our industry.", said Bruce L. Paisner, President  & CEO of The International Academy.
This is the first time that a program from Kenya is ever nominated for an Emmy and the first time that a program from Japan is nominated for a Digital Emmy. Shujaaz.FM, a multi-media communications project, designed to inspire and motivate millions of Kenyans to take action to improve their lives and engage with urgent issues that shape their future, is nominated in the Children & Young People category. NHK World TV Digital Disaster Coverage, the HD coverage of the massive earthquake and tsunami that hit the east coast of Japan on March 11, 2011, from helicopters and robot making full use of various digital platforms as well as linear TV, is nominated in the Non-Fiction category.

2012 International Digital Emmy® Awards Nominees

Digital Program: Children & Young People


Raw Television for Channel 4
United Kingdom

Well Told Story

Hoodlum/Playmaker Media/Fox 8/Foxtel

Digital Program: Fiction

Endgame Interactive: Facebook Episode
Secret Location/Shaw Media/Thunderbird Films

The Great Crusade

Murdoch Mysteries: The Curse of the Lost Pharaohs
Smokebomb Entertainment/Shaftesbury Films/Citytv

Temps Mort (Time Out) Babel

DIGITAL Program: Non-Fiction

Bar Code
National Film Board of Canada/Arte France

Floods in Rio
G1/TV Globo

Live from the Clinic
Maverick Television for Channel 4
United Kingdom

NHK WORLD TV Digital Disaster Coverage

About The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is a membership based organization comprised of leading media and entertainment figures from over 50 countries and 500 companies from all sectors of television including internet, mobile and technology. The Academy’s yearly schedule of events includes the prestigious International Emmy® Awards Ceremony held in New York, The International Digital Emmy® Awards at MIPTV and a series of industry events such as Academy Day, The International Emmy® World Television Festival and Panels on substantive industry topics. The Academy was chartered with a mission to recognize excellence in television produced outside of the United States and it presents The International Emmy® Awards in the following twenty categories: Arts Programming; Best Performance by an Actress; Best Performance by an Actor; Current Affairs; Comedy; Digital Program: Children & Young People; Digital Program: Fiction; Digital Program: Non-Fiction; Documentary; Drama Series; Kids: Preschool; Kids: Animation; Kids: Factual; Kids: Non-Scripted Entertainment; Kids: Series; Kids: TV Movie/Mini-Series News; Non-Scripted Entertainment; Telenovela; TV Movie/Mini-Series. For more information go to

Media Contacts:

The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
Eva Obadia, Communications Director
Tel: (1) 212-489-6969

The Lippin Group
Don Ciaramella
Tel: (1) 212-986-7080
Copyright © 2017 International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. All rights reserved.