International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Press Release>
41st International Emmy® Awards Nominees Announced

Nominations Span 19 countries Including First Nominations for Programs from Angola and Uruguay

Cannes/MIPCOM, October 7, 2013 - Nominations for the 41st International Emmy® Awards were announced today by the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences at a Press Conference at Mipcom. There are 36 nominees in 9 categories. The full list of Nominees follows this release. Winners will be announced at a Black-Tie Ceremony on November 25, 2013 at the Hilton New York Hotel.

Nominations span 19 countries: Angola, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Colombia, France, Germany, Israel, Japan, Mexico, South Africa, South Korea, Sweden, New Zealand, the Philippines, the United Kingdom and Uruguay.

This is the first time that programs from Angola and Uruguay are nominated.

"Every year, the global television community competes for an Emmy®, the most prestigious of all media awards, and we congratulate the 2013 Nominees for their outstanding programs and performances." said Bruce L. Paisner, President & CEO of the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

In addition to the presentation of the International Emmy® Awards for programming and performances, The Academy will present two special awards. Film and television Creator/Writer/Director J.J. Abrams who is currently in London, directing the new Star Wars movie will come to New York to receive the 2013 International Emmy® Founders Award. Anke Schäferkordt, Co-CEO of RTL Group and CEO, RTL Germany, will receive the 2013 International Emmy® Directorate Award.

This year's Gala partners are: Phoenix Satellite Television, Globo, Microsoft, Dori Media Group, Ernst & Young, Deluxe, Mipcom, Sofitel Luxury Hotels and Variety.

2013 Semi-Final Judging Hosts were: Nashwa Al Ruwaini, Pyramedia (Abu Dhabi, UAE); Avi Armoza; Armoza Formats (Tel Aviv, Israel); Steven Bawol, Helion Pictures (Paris, France); Piv Bernth, Danish Broadcasting Corporation (Copenhagen, Denmark); Nicolas Bonard, Discovery International (Paris, France); Pascal Breton, Pascal Breton Productions (Paris, France); Astrid Bscher, Filmfritz GmbH (Cologne, Germany); Marcello Coltro, Chello Latin America (Santiago, Chile); Beatrice Cox-Riesenfelder, ORF (Vienna, Austria); Bill Dunlop, Eurovision Americas (Washington DC, USA); Zaheer Goodman-Bhyat, Light & Dark Films (Johannesburg, South Africa); Xavier Gouyou-Beauchamps, TV France International (Biarritz, France); Leopold Hoesch, BROADVIEW TV GmbH (Cologne, Germany); Verena Kulenkampff, WDR (Cologne, Germany); Charles Lei, Yingzhanwang (Beijing, China); Denis Lillie, Cape Film Commission (Cape Town, South Africa); Paul Macionis, Foxtel (Sydney, Australia); Michael McKay, Active TV (Sydney Australia); Alexander Marin, Sony Pictures Television Latin America (Bogota, Colombia); Miguel Oliva, HBO Latin America Group (Fort Lauderdale, USA); Sylvain Parent-Bedard; Quebecomm (Quebec City, Canada); Franz Patay, IMZ - International Music & Media Centre (Vienna, Austria); Stefan Piech, YFE (Vienna, Austria); Alberto Santini Lara, TV Azteca (Mexico City, Mexico); Pierre Sissmann, Cyber Group Studios (Paris, France); Carlos Schroder, TV Globo (New York, USA & Rio de Janeiro, Brazil); Michael Smeaton, FFP New Media (Berlin, Germany); Takashi Nakamoto, Fuji TV (Tokyo, Japan); Anil Wanvari, Indian Television Dot Com (Mumbai, India); Leon Xiao, CBI Media (Changzhou, China); Regina Ziegler & Tanja Ziegler, Ziegler Films (Berlin, Germany).

41st International Emmy® Awards Nominees:

Awards Ceremony to be held November 25, 2013


Arts Programming  


Hello?! Orchestra
MBC / SAN Media
South Korea


Geronimo BVBA


Multiple Views - La Máquina Loca (The Crazy Machine)
TV UNAM / El Caiman Films / Alebrije

Freddie Mercury: The Great Pretender
EMP / Mercury Songs co-production for Eagle Rock Entertainment

Best Performance by an Actor


Shinichi Tsutsumi In Yasu - A Single Father's Story


Sean Bean In Accused
RSJ Films

Heino Ferch In Anatomy of Revenge
ZDF / ARTE / Aichholzer Filmproduktion, Vienna / ORF


Marcos Palmeira In Mandrake Especial
HBO Latin America Originals / Goritzia Filmes

Best Performance by an Actress


Li Sun In The Back Palace: Legend of Zhen Huan
Dongyang Flower Film TV Culture / Beijing TV Art Center / SMG Picture / Beijing Star Galaxy Film TV Culture Communication
PR China

Sheridan Smith In Mrs Biggs
ITV Studios / December Media

Lotta Tejle In 30 Degrees in February
SVT / Fundament Film

Fernanda Montenegro
In Sweet Mother
TV Globo




Late Nite News with Loyiso Gola
eNCA (e News Channel Africa) / Diprente
South Africa

Moone Boy

Baby Cow Productions / Grand Pictures / Sprout Pictures / Hot Cod Productions / Sky 1 HD

Gazelle et Cie / Canal Plus

How to Enjoy the End of the World
TV Globo



The Golden Hour
Desert Road / TVNZ
New Zealand

My Mother, Lady Bondong
South Korea

5 Broken Cameras
Alegria Productions / Guy DVD Films / Burnat Films Palestine / France Télévisions

5 de Mayo, Un Dia de Gloria
Discovery Channel Latin America / Cactus Films

Drama Series


Maalaala Mo Kaya
The Philippines

Les Revenants (Rebound)
Haut et Court TV / Canal+ Original Programming

Next in Line
TV Globo

RSJ Films


Non-Scripted Entertainment


Go Back to Where You Came From
SBS Television Australia / Cordell Jigsaw Productions

MasterChef South Africa
Quizzical Pictures / Lucky Bean Media
South Africa

Dear Neighbors Help Our Daughter Find Love
Keshet Broadcasting / Keshet International / Fuchsia Productions

Reto al Chef 2



Semba Comunicação

30 vies (30 lives)
Aetios Productions Inc.

Brasil Avenue
TV Globo

Side by Side
TV Globo

TV Movie/Mini-Series


DramaW Mini-Series: Heaven's Ark
WOWOW INC. / FINE Entertainment

Secret State
Company Television / Newscope Films

SOMOS - Cadáver se necesita
AGADU / Canal 10

A Day for a Miracle
Rowboat Film / ZDF

About the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is a membership based organization comprised of leading media and entertainment figures from over 60 countries and 500 companies from all sectors of television including internet, mobile and technology. The Academy's yearly schedule of events includes the prestigious International Emmy® Awards and International Emmy® Kids Awards ceremonies held in New York, The International Digital Emmy® Awards at MIPTV and a series of industry events such as Academy Day, The International Emmy® World Television Festival and Panels on substantive industry topics. The Academy was chartered with a mission to recognize excellence in television produced outside of the United States and it presents The International Emmy® Awards in the following twenty categories: Arts Programming; Best Performance by an Actress; Best Performance by an Actor; Current Affairs; Comedy; Digital Program: Children & Young People; Digital Program: Fiction; Digital Program: Non-Fiction; Documentary; Drama Series; Kids: Preschool; Kids: Animation; Kids: Factual; Kids: Non-Scripted Entertainment; Kids: Series; Kids: TV Movie/Mini-Series News; Non-Scripted Entertainment; Telenovela; TV Movie/Mini-Series. For more information go to

At Mipcom the International Emmy® Awards are located on stand 26.09


The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
Eva Obadia, Senior Director, Communications & Partnerships
Tel: +1-212-489-6969

The Lippin Group
Matt Biscuitti
Tel: +1-212-986-7080

Copyright © 2017 International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. All rights reserved.