International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Press Release>

Cannes/MIPCOM, October 5, 2009:  Nominations for the 37th International Emmy® Awards were announced today by The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences at a Press Conference at Mipcom. There are 41 nominees in 10 categories. The full list of Nominees follows this release. Winners will be announced at a Black-Tie Ceremony hosted by UK television star Graham Norton, on November 23, 2009 at the Hilton New York Hotel.

Nominations span over 17 countries with first ever Emmy nomination for Thailand, in the Children & Young People Category. The United Kingdom leads with 9 nominations, followed by Brazil (5), Germany, Mexico & The Philippines (3). The competition took place with three rounds of judging over a period of 6 months, with participation from over 600 judges in 50 different countries.

“As interest in our competition builds every year, The Academy is proud to serve as a cultural showcase of television from all continents,” said Academy President & CEO, Bruce L. Paisner. “We congratulate the 2009 Nominees for their outstanding achievements and hope the first-time nomination from Thailand will inspire more producers from many more countries to follow in their footsteps and enter the competition.”

In addition to the presentation of the International Emmy® Awards for programming, the Academy will present two special awards. Sir David Frost, one of the preeminent television figures of the 20th century whose interviews with President Richard Nixon were immortalized in last year’s Oscar nominated movie Frost/Nixon, is set to receive the 2009 International Emmy® Founders Award. Markus Schächter, Director General, ZDF, will receive the 2009 International Emmy Directorate Award for his outstanding leadership of ZDF and to commemorate the 60th Anniversary of the founding of The Federal Republic of Germany.

This year’s partners are: Phoenix Satellite Television, TV Globo, Dori Media Group, Microsoft, Ascent Media, Ernst & Young, Reed MIDEM, Sofitel New York, Variety, The Hollywood Reporter.

2009 Semi-Final Judging Hosts are: Bell-Phillip Television Productions, Inc.,(Los Angeles, USA); Broadview TV GmbH (Cologne, Germany); CANAL + (Paris, France) ;DR-Danish Broadcasting Corporation (Copenhagen, Denmark;) European Television Guild (London, United Kingdom); Festcom, (Melbourne, Australia) ; FFP New Media, (Cologne, Germany); The Frame Production (Abu Dhabi, UAE); France 2 Television; (New York, USA) ;HBO Latin America Group (Miami, USA) ; Indian, (Mumbai, India); International Music & Media Centre (IMZ)  at Golden Prague (Prague, Czech Republic); Lagardère Entertainment & Helion Pictures (Paris, France) Metro TV (Accra, Ghana) ;MTV - Hungarian Television ;(Budapest, Hungary); SABC  (Johannesburg, South Africa); South Pacific Pictures (Auckland, New Zealand); Telemundo (Miami, USA) ;TV UNAM (Mexico City, Mexico); ZDF (Cologne, Germany).

About The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is a membership based organization comprised of leading media and entertainment figures from over 50 countries and 500 companies from all sectors of television including internet, mobile and technology. The Academy’s yearly schedule of events includes the prestigious International Emmy® Awards Ceremony held in New York, The International Digital Emmy® Awards at MIPTV and a series of industry events such as Academy Day, The International Emmy® World Television Festival and Panels on substantive industry topics. The Academy was chartered with a mission to recognize excellence in television produced outside of the United States and it presents The International Emmy® Awards in the following fifteen categories: Arts Programming; Best Performance by an Actress; Best Performance by an Actor; Current Affairs; Children & Young People; Comedy; Digital Program: Children & Young People; Digital Program: Fiction; Digital Program: Non-Fiction; Documentary; Drama Series; News; Non-Scripted Entertainment; Telenovela; TV Movie/Mini-Series. For more information go to

At Mipcom the International Emmy® Awards are located on stand 26.09

Media Contacts:
Eva Obadia, Director Marketing & PR
T: 212-489-6969 
F: 212-489-6557
Cell: (1) 917-754-0085

The Lippin Group,
Matt Biscuitti
T : 212-986-7080

To view the full list of Nominees, click here...
Copyright © 2017 International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. All rights reserved.