Competition Opens: April 25th
Competition Closes: July

For more information

THE International academy of television arts & sciences Foundation

Created in 1989, The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation has its own Constitution, Officers and independent Board of Trustees.

Each year, The Foundation administers the Sir Peter Ustinov Television Scriptwriting Award. The competition is designed to motivate non-American novice writers under the age of 30, and offer them the recognition and encouragement that might lead to a successful career in television scriptwriting. Entrants are asked to create a completed half-hour to one-hour English-language television drama script.

The award winner receives $2,500, a trip to New York City, and an invitation to the International Emmy® Awards Gala in November.

The 2018 competition closed on July 3, 2018 at 12 Noon EST.

Rules & Regulations
Download an Entry Form

The 2018 winner, from Canada, is Lexi Savoy for her script, Who Killed Heather McAdams?

With two generations of bookstore owners behind her, it's no surprise that Lexi Savoy loves stories. Add on a deep appreciation for film and television, and you've got yourself the makings of a screenwriter. After attending Carleton University for two years studying English and Film, a twist of fate lead Lexi to attend the Scriptwriting Program at Algonquin College. She graduated from the program not only with honors, but with an insatiable appetite for writing. When not searching for that next great idea, you can find her taking photos of her grumpy yet very affectionate cat Chuck.

The 2017 winner, from Australia, is Joe Brukner for his script, Judas.

Joe Brukner is an Australian writer/producer of film & TV based in Melbourne, Australia.

His half-hour script Transplant placed 1st on the 2017 Assistant List of unrepresented writers working in entertainment, and the 2017 Bitch List, which celebrates unproduced scripts that depict complex, female-driven stories.

Joe was chosen as a fellow of Australians in Film’s Writers Room for 2015-16, developing a feature script under the guidance of industry professionals in Los Angeles.

As a producer working in Los Angeles, he has written and produced multiple short films and music videos for leading international artists such as Jack Ü and The Fratellis.

Joe completed a BA from the University of Melbourne and went on to receive an MFA in Dramatic Writing from New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts.

He’s an avid reader, TV fan, trivia buff, and is always interested in hearing your podcast recommendations.



The 2016 winner, from Australia, is C.S. McMullen for her script, Living Metal.

Catherine S. McMullen is a writer and film & TV professional, currently living in Melbourne.
As a production freelancer, her professional credits include Syfy series Hunters and Childhood’s End, AACTA­‐award winning series Nowhere Boys, unscripted shows Real Housewives of Melbourne and Formal Wars, and feature films Cut Snake and Paper Planes.
Her fiction work has been published in Nightmare Magazine, Aurealis Magazine, and Interzone, and has been reprinted in anthologies such as ‘Year’s Best Australian Fantasy & Horror 2013’ and ‘Focus 2013: Highlights of Australian Short Fiction’. Her short story ‘The Nest’ was nominated for an Australian Shadows Award from the Australian Horror Writers’ Association, and her short story ‘Monday­‐child’ was voted by Aurealis subscribers as ‘Best Story of 2013’.
Catherine graduated in 2011 with a double degree in Arts (Film Studies)/Law from the University of Melbourne, on a full Melbourne National Scholarship awarded to academic high achievers.
She is a life-­long nerd and former MMO addict, and enjoys books, TV, movies and games, especially if they’re about robots or dragons (or possibly robotic dragons).


Special thanks to the 2016 Ustinov Jurors:

Miranda Banks 
Gabriel Bergmoser 
Adrienne Bortoli
Louisa Burns-Bisogno
Felicity Carpenter
Jaclyn Chan
Stephen Corvini
Michael F.X. Daley
Dilman Dila
Richard Dubin
Maite Echave
Cristina Farreira Gomes

Caitlin Fryers
William Grant Bleich
Ayanda Halimana
Gïti Hatef-Rossa
Peter Henning
Leena Kemppi
Johann Knobel
Neil Landau
Anthony Leo
Natxo López
Norbert Maass
Johnny McAllister

Bernhard Natschläger
Rebecca Norris 
Sophie Petzal 
Esra Saritaş Güven 
Minky Schlesinger 
Gareth Smith 
Jason Spencer 
Scott J. Thompson 
Robbie Thorpe 
Toby Welch 
Airin Zainul

Previous Ustinov Winners:

2017 - Joe Brukner (Australia) - Judas
2016 - C.S. McMullen (Australia) - Living Metal
2015 - Gabriel Bergmoser (Australia) - Windmills: Leo
2014 – Caitlin D. Fryers (Canada) Fealty
2013 – Rosy Deacon (UK) Shards
2012 – Sophie Petzal (UK) Sanctioned
2011 Robert Goldsbrough (UK) The Forge
2010 Jason Spencer (Australia) Spirits of the Past
2009 – Claire Tonkin (Australia) Me & Mine
2008 – Jez Freedman (UK) The Storyteller
2007 – Felicity Carpenter (Australia) Touching People
2006 – Nimer Rashed (UK) The Great McGinty
2005 – John Allison (UK) Distant Relatives
Caroline Doherty (South Africa) Passion Gap
Jo Kasch (Australia) Upstream
2002 – Howard Hunt (UK) Lie of the Land
2001 – Colm Maher (Ireland) True Story
2000 – Sylke Rene Meyer (Germany) Who is Anna Walentynowicz?
1999 – Glenn Weller (Australia) Beautiful Music
1998 – Tatyana Murzakova (Russia) Smile of the King


"Any attempt to explain the experience I had, the doors it opened or the ways it changed my life will inevitably fall short of conveying just how much winning the Ustinov Award meant to me. Maybe that sounds hyperbolic, but being whisked away from the independent theatre scene in Melbourne to spend a weekend mingling with some of the most exciting filmmakers from around the world at the International Emmys, walking the red carpet, watching my script read by Broadway actors and so much more isn’t the kind of thing I ever seriously thought might happen to me, and when it did, well, it’s still hard to absorb as a real thing that actually happened. But that doesn’t stop it being the best. I am so grateful to everyone at the International Academy for the experience and opportunity, and to anyone thinking about entering, frankly you’d be crazy not to."

2015 Sir Peter Ustinov Television Scriptwriting Award Winner – Gabriel Bergmoser (Australia) - Windmills: Leo


"Within a few weeks of winning the Sir Peter Ustinov Award I was contacted by multiple Agencies asking to read Fealty. A short time later I met with my top three and had the difficult - but very nice - problem of making a choice between them. I’ve since signed with Meridian Artists and optioned a series pitch to an award winning production company. All this, and I had the amazing experience of a weekend in New York at the International Emmys! I really can’t thank the Foundation enough."

2014 Sir Peter Ustinov Television Scriptwriting Award Winner – Caitlin D. Fryers (Canada) Fealty


"I do not have enough good things to say about the Sir Peter Ustinov Award. I know that as someone who won a writing competition you'd think that finding the right words would be my strong point but it's hard to sum up exactly what the award has meant to me. I sent my script off on a whim – it was the day of the deadline and I almost didn't bother, not daring to think it could ever win. But it did. Since then, the award has given me the most unbelievable start, helping me find an agent, launch me as a writer and connecting me with producers and directors from all around the world. It's completely spoilt me for the rest of my career. But with this award sitting on my desk, it's hard to mind. If you fit the criteria and have a script, then enter. You have absolutely nothing to lose and so, so much to gain." 

2013 Sir Peter Ustinov Television Scriptwriting Award Winner – Rosy Deacon (UK) Shards

Copyright © 2018 International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. All rights reserved.