Norwegian Detective Series Mammon II Wins in Drama
Kenneth Branagh & Anna Friel Win Best Performance Categories

NEW YORK, November 20, 2017 – The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced the winners of the 45th International Emmy® Awards tonight at a Black-Tie Gala event attended by 1,000 television professionals from around the world and hosted by comedian Maz Jobrani at the New York Hilton.

The Directorate Award and 11 Emmy statues were presented by the International Academy during the evening.

Discovery Communications CEO David Zaslav, presented the International Emmy Directorate Award to Emilio Azcárraga Jean, Chairman of the Board, President and CEO of Grupo Televisa, the world’s largest Spanish-language content provider and Mexico’s largest broadcaster and pay television provider.

Kenneth Branagh accepted the Emmy for Best Performance by an Actor for his role as detective Kurt Wallander in Wallander. Anna Friel accepted the Emmy for Best Performance by an Actress for her role as Detective Sergeant Marcella Backland in Marcella.

The 11 winning International Emmy programs and performances span 8 countries: Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Norway, Turkey, The UK and the US. They are: Hip-Hop Evolution (Arts Programming), Kenneth Branagh (Best Performance by an Actor), Anna Friel (Best Performance by an Actress), Alan Partridge’s Scissored Isle (Comedy), EXODUS: Our Journey to Europe (Documentary), Mammon II (Drama Series), Sr. Ávila (Non-English Language US Primetime Program), Sorry Voor Alles (Non-Scripted Entertainment),The Braun Family (Short-Form Series); Kara Sevda(Telenovela), and Don’t Leave Me (TV Movie/Mini-Series). Complete winners information follows this release.

“Television is a universal art form that transcends cultures, languages and borders- as demonstrated by tonight’s winners,” said International Academy President & CEO Bruce L. Paisner. “In these contentious times- when television programming is constantly under attack, the Academy is proud to recognize excellence from around the world.”

2017 International Emmy® Awards Winners

Arts Programming

Hip-Hop Evolution
Banger Films

Best Performance by an Actor

Kenneth Branagh in Wallander
Left Bank Pictures / Yellow Bird / BBC / TKBC
United Kingdom

Best Performance by an Actress

Anna Friel in Marcella
Buccaneer Media / Netflix
United Kingdom


Alan Partridge’s Scissored Isle
Baby Cow Productions
United Kingdom


EXODUS: Our Journey to Europe
KEO films / BBC 2
United Kingdom

Drama Series

Mammon II
NRK Drama / SVT / DR / YLE FEM / Nordvision Fund

Non-English U.S. Primetime Program

Sr. Ávila
HBO Latin America / Lemon Films
United States of America

Non-Scripted Entertainment

Sorry Voor Alles
(Sorry About That)
Warner Bros International Television Production België

Short-Form Series

The Braun Family
Polyphon, Berlin


Kara Sevda
( Endless Love)
Ay Yapim

TV Movie/Mini-Series

Don’t Leave Me
Scarlett Production / France Télévisions

About The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is a membership based organization comprised of leading media and entertainment figures from over 60 countries and 500 companies from all sectors of television including internet, mobile and technology. The Academy’s yearly schedule of events includes the prestigious International Emmy® Awards held in New York, The International Emmy® Kids Awards at MIPTV and a series of industry events such as Academy Day, The International Emmy® World Television Festival and Panels on substantive industry topics. The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences recognizes excellence in television produced outside of the United States, as well as US Primetime programs produced in languages other than English, with the prestigious Emmy® Award. Currently celebrating programming across varied areas including: Arts Programming, Current Affairs, Comedy, Documentary, Drama Series, News, Non-Scripted Entertainment, Short-Form Series, Telenovela, and TV Movie/Mini-Series, it also recognizes excellence in Performances, Kids programming and Digital. For more information, go to


The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
Eva Obadia, Senior Director, Communications & Partnerships
Tel: 212-489-6969

The Lippin Group
Matt Biscuiti
Tel: +1-212-986-7080