Sir Peter Ustinov Scriptwriting Award

Sir Peter Ustinov Television Scriptwriting Award

The International Academy Of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation

Created in 1989, The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation has its own Constitution, Officers and independent Board of Trustees.

Each year, The Foundation administers the Sir Peter Ustinov Television Scriptwriting Award. The competition is designed to motivate non-American novice writers under the age of 30, and offer them the recognition and encouragement that might lead to a successful career in television scriptwriting. Entrants are asked to create a completed half-hour to one-hour English-language television drama script.

The award winner receives $2,500, a trip to New York City, and an invitation to the International Emmy® Awards Gala in November.

The 2018 Winner, From Canada, is Lexi Savoy For Her Script, Who Killed Heather McAdams?

With two generations of bookstore owners behind her, it's no surprise that Lexi Savoy loves stories. Add on a deep appreciation for film and television, and you've got yourself the makings of a screenwriter. After attending Carleton University for two years studying English and Film, a twist of fate lead Lexi to attend the Scriptwriting Program at Algonquin College. She graduated from the program not only with honors, but with an insatiable appetite for writing. When not searching for that next great idea, you can find her taking photos of her grumpy yet very affectionate cat Chuck.


Previous Ustinov Winners:

2017 – Joe Brukner (Australia) – Judas
2016 - C.S. McMullen (Australia) - Living Metal
2015 - Gabriel Bergmoser (Australia) - Windmills: Leo
2014 - Caitlin D. Fryers (Canada) Fealty
2013 - Rosy Deacon (UK) Shards
2012 - Sophie Petzal (UK) Sanctioned
2011 - Robert Goldsbrough (UK) The Forge
2010 - Jason Spencer (Australia) Spirits of the Past
2009 - Claire Tonkin (Australia) Me & Mine
2008 - Jez Freedman (UK) The Storyteller
2007 - Felicity Carpenter (Australia) Touching People
2006 - Nimer Rashed (UK) The Great McGinty
2005 - John Allison (UK) Distant Relatives
2004 - Caroline Doherty (South Africa) Passion Gap
2003 - Jo Kasch (Australia) Upstream
2002 - Howard Hunt (UK) Lie of the Land
2001 - Colm Maher (Ireland) True Story
2000 - Sylke Rene Meyer (Germany) Who is Anna Walentynowicz?
1999 - Glenn Weller (Australia) Beautiful Music
1998 - Tatyana Murzakova (Russia) Smile of the King