Categories & Key Dates

Categories & Key Dates

The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences presents Emmy® Awards in 17 categories including a new Sports Documentary category. 

The 50th International Emmy® Awards competition opened Wednesday, December 8, 2021 and closed Thursday, February 17, 2022 at 12 noon (ET).


International Emmy® Awards Gala

The 50th International Emmy Awards will take place November 21, 2022. 

Nominees will be announced September 2022.

Click for more information on the International Emmy® Awards.
Categories Presented:

  • Arts Programming
  • Best Performance by an Actress
  • Best Performance by an Actor
  • Comedy
  • Documentary
  • Drama Series
  • Non-English Language US Primetime Program
  • Non-Scripted Entertainment
  • Short-Form Series
  • Telenovela
  • TV Movie/Mini-Series

International Emmy® Kids Awards

The 10th International Emmy® Kids Awards Presentation took place October 12, 2021 (Online). 

Winners Press Release
Nominees were announced September 7, 2021

Click for more information. on the International Emmy® Kids Awards

Categories Presented:

  • Kids: Animation
  • Kids: Factual
  • Kids: Non-Scripted Entertainment
  • Kids: Preschool
  • Kids: Series
  • Kids: TV Movie/Mini-Series

Categories for the 9th International Emmy@ Kids Awards and thereafter:

  • Kids: Animation
  • Kids: Factual & Entertainment
  • Kids: Live-Action

International Emmy® News Awards

The International Emmy® Current Affairs & News categories are presented alongside their American news and documentary counterparts as part of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences’ News & Documentary Emmy® Awards. 

The 2021 ceremony took place September 28, 2021 (Online).
Winners Press Release
Nominees were announced August 19, 2021

Click for more information on the International Emmy® News Awards.

International Emmy® Categories Presented:

  • Current Affairs
  • News

Other Awards

The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences presents the following at the International Emmy World Television Festival

The JCS International Young Creatives Award

  • Designed to discover, recognize and foster young talent from around the world while creating a global conversation around Peace.
  • Open to 18-29 Year Old Non-American Citizens (Dual Citizens are Eligible)
  • Entrants submit a 1 Minute Film on the year's specific theme (relating to Peace).
  • Click to find out more

The Sir Peter Ustinov Television Scriptwriting Award

  • Designed to motivate non-American novice writers under the age of 30, and offer them the recognition and encouragement that might lead to a successful career in television scriptwriting
  • Open to Non-American Citizens under the age of 30
  • Entrant submit a half-hour to one-hour English-language television drama script.
  • Click to find out more