First in category for each


Cannes/MIPCOM, October 8, 2012 – Nominations for the 40th International Emmy Awards were announced today by the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences at a Press Conference at Mipcom. There are 38 nominees in 9 categories. The full list of Nominees follows this release. Winners will receive their Emmys at the 40th International Emmy Awards Gala, on November 19, in New York City.


Nominations span 15 countries: Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, China, Denmark, France, Germany, Japan, Norway, Portugal, Singapore, South Korea, Spain and The United Kingdom. The 2012 International Emmy competitions have three rounds of judging over a period of 6 months, with participation from jurors across 67 countries.

“At the first International Emmys in 1972, there were only 2 categories: Fiction and Non-Fiction. Today, we have 20 categories presented over 4 different awards ceremonies.” said Bruce L. Paisner, President & CEO of the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. “We congratulate the 2012 Nominees for their outstanding achievements as their programs and performances enter into television history and look forward to celebrating them at our Festival and 40th anniversary Gala, this November in New York.”

In celebration of the International Emmys 40th anniversary, the International Academy will present Special Founders Awards to television legends Alan Alda (M*A*S*H ) and Norman Lear (All In The Family ). Both Mr. Alda and Mr. Lear had programs in distribution in 1972, the year of the first International Emmy Awards Gala.

Also, as previously announced, the 2012 International Emmy Founders Award will be presented to producer/writer Ryan Murphy, Co-creator & Executive Producer of Glee while the 2012 International Emmy Directorate Award will be presented to Dr. Kim In-Kyu, President & CEO of KBS, (Korean Broadcasting System), also President of the ABU (Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union).

This year’s partners are: Phoenix Satellite Television, TV Globo, Microsoft, Dori Media Group, Ernst & Young, Deluxe, Reed Midem, Sofitel Luxury Hotels, and Variety.

2012 Semi-Final Judging Hosts are: Nashwa Al Ruwaini, Pyramedia (Abu Dhabi, UAE); Andres Badra, Corporacion Medcom (Panama, Panama); Steven Bawol, Helion Pictures (Paris, France); Piv Bernth, Danish Broadcasting Corporation (Copenhagen, Denmark); Nathalie Bourdon, Farmore Distribution (Quebec, Canada); Gillian Carr, Moody Street Kids (Melbourne, Australia); Octavio Florisbal, TV Globo (Lisbon, Portugal & Rio de Janeiro, Brazil); Frank Dieter Freiling, ZDF (Cologne, Germany); Gregoire Furrer, Gregoire Furrer Productions (Paris, France); Xavier Gouyou-Beauchamps, TV France International (Biarritz, France) ; Alejandro Harrison, Pramer (Buenos Aires, Argentina) ; Vanessa Henneman, Henneman Agency (Amsterdam, Netherlands); Leopold Hoesch, BROADVIEW TV GmbH (Cologne, Germany); Charles Lei, Yingzhanwang (Beijing, China); Denis Lillie, Cape Film Commission (Cape Town, South Africa); Michael McKay, Active TV (Singapore, Singapore); Alexander Marin, Sony Pictures Television Latin America (Santa Fe, Mexico); Bernadette O’Mahony, Australian Children’s Television Foundation (Melbourne, Australia); Miguel Oliva, HBO Latin America Group (Miami, USA); Franz Patay & Chris Hunt, IMZ – International Music & Media Centre (Berlin, Germany); Melvin Perez & Marcello Coltro, MGM Latin America (Miami, USA); Remy Pflimlin & Nicole Devilaine, France Televisions (Paris, France) ; Antony Root, HBO Central Europe (Budapest, Hungary); Jane Roscoe, SBS (Sydney, Australia);Ricardo Salinas, TV Azteca (Mexico City, Mexico); Michael Smeaton, FFP New Media (Berlin, Germany); Saran Virutamavongsa, Bangkok Broadcasting (Bangkok, Thailand); Anil Wanvari, Indian Television Dot Com (Mumbai, India); Tom Woods & Jacques de Suze, Woods TV (Paris, France); Victoria Yarmoshchuk, MRM (Kiev, Ukraine); Regina Ziegler, Ziegler Films (Berlin, Germany).

At Mipcom the International Emmy® Awards are located on stand 26.09

The 2012 International Emmy® Awards Nominees:

Arts Programming

All My Life – Cartola
TV Globo / Rede Globo


Queen: Days of Our Lives
Eagle Rock Entertainment/Queen Productions Ltd/Globe Films UK

Songs of War
ZDF German Television/ ARTE / A & O Büro


Best Performance by an Actor

Arthur Acuña in The Kitchen Musical

The Group Entertainment


Darío Grandinetti in Televisión por la Inclusión

ON TV Contenidos


Jason Isaacs in Case Histories

Ruby Film and Television / Monastic Productions


Stein Winge in Norwegian Cozy

Tordenfilm AS/ NRK / NFI / Nordisk Film & TV Fond / YLE


Zhu Yawen in Flying Eagle

H.Brothers Tianyi Movie & TV Co.,Ltd / Beijing Yechen Film & TV Cultural Development Co., Ltd

PR China

Best Performance by an Actress

Sidse Babett Knudsen in Government



Cristina Banegas in Televisión por la Inclusión

ON TV Contenidos


Rina Sa in Zhong Guo Di

Phoenix Satellite TV in association with Sino Television / Liaoning Seven-star Film / Dongyang Tangyun Fenghua Culture Communications

Hong Kong, China

Joanna Vanderham in The Runaway

BSkyB / Company Pictures/ Sky 1



Absolutely Fabulous

BBC Productions / Saunders and French Production


The Invisible Woman

TV Globo / Rede Globo



BSkyB / Hat Trick / Sky 1


What if?




Across Land, Across Sea

The Chosunilbo

South Korea

Hitler’s Escape

Anima Films / The History Channel Latin America


Terry Pratchett: Choosing to Die

BBC / KEO Films


Wettlauf Zum Südpol (Race to the South Pole)

Loopfilm GmbH / ZDF


Drama Series


Capa Drama / Canal + / Bad Company / Big Nose


ICAC Investigators 2011


Hong Kong, China

The Kitchen Musical

The Group Entertainment


The Slap

Matchbox Pictures / ABC / Screen Australia


The Social Leader

Artear / Pol-ka


Non-Scripted Entertainment

The Amazing Race Australia

Seven Productions-Seven Network (Operations) Ltd. / Active TV / ABC Studios


The Challenger Muaythai

Imagine Group Pte Ltd / The Group Entertainment


El Hormiguero (The Anthill)

7yaccion / Antena 3


Planeta Extremo (Extreme Planet)

TV Globo



The Fire of the Rose

SP Televisão / SIC


Holy Remedy

Plural Entertainment Portugal



The Illusionist

TV Globo / Rede Globo



Iron Daughters-in-Law


South Korea

TV Movie/Mini-Series

Black Mirror

Channel Four Television / Zeppotron


Early Autumn

Chubu-Nippon Broadcasting / Shochiku Co. Ltd.


The Good Men

TV Globo / Rede Globo / Casa de Cinema de POA


L’Infiltré (The Lying Game)

Breakout Films / Aperto Films / Sirena Film / Canal+


About The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences 

The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is a membership based organization comprised of leading media and entertainment figures from over 50 countries and 500 companies from all sectors of television including internet, mobile and technology. The Academy’s yearly schedule of events includes the prestigious International Emmy® Awards Ceremony held in New York, The International Digital Emmy® Awards at MIPTV and a series of industry events such as Academy Day, The International Emmy® World Television Festival and Panels on substantive industry topics. The Academy was chartered with a mission to recognize excellence in television produced outside of the United States and it presents The International Emmy® Awards in the following fifteen categories: Arts Programming; Best Performance by an Actress; Best Performance by an Actor; Current Affairs; Children & Young People; Comedy; Digital Program: Children & Young People; Digital Program: Fiction; Digital Program: Non-Fiction; Documentary; Drama Series; News; Non-Scripted Entertainment; Telenovela; TV Movie/Mini-Series.  For more information go to  www.iemmys.tv.  


The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
Eva Obadia,  
Communications Director
Tel: +1-212-489-6969
[email protected]  

The Lippin Group
Matt Biscuitti
Tel: +1-212-986-7080
[email protected]