Showrunner Duo Behind HBO’s Globally Acclaimed Record-Breaking Series to be Honored at 47th International Emmy® Awards, on November 25, in New York

New York, March 25, 2019 – The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced today that Game of Thrones Creators and Showrunners David Benioff and D.B. Weiss, who masterfully brought to the screen the epic world of George R.R. Martin’s best-selling fantasy novel series, A Song of Ice and Fire– will receive the 2019 International Emmy® Founders Award at the 47th International Emmy® Awards Gala, on Monday, November 25, 2019, in New York City.
“David and D.B. are absolute game changers, visionary storytellers who have created, with their first foray into television, a record breaking global cultural phenomenon with an international following like no other” said Academy President & CEO, Bruce L. Paisner. “We look forward to honoring their extraordinary talent and the Game of Thrones legacy, with our Founders Award.”
“The International Academy does us all a great honor. From cast to crew to locations, the Game of Thrones effort was truly international, and this award rightly belongs to all the people who worked so hard for so many years to bring the show to life.” said David Benioff and D.B. Weiss.
Since its debut in 2011, Game of Thrones has been billed as one of the world’s most popular television series; airing in over 207 countries and territories and receiving 132 Emmy nominations, the most of any primetime scripted series in Emmys history. The show’s audience has consistently grown every year, with Season 7 finale setting another record ratings high for HBO with 16.5 million viewers.The eighth and final season returns on April 14, 2019.
When Game of Thrones is complete, Benioff and Weiss will write and produce a new trilogy of Star Wars films for Lucas Films and Disney.

About the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is a membership based organization comprised of leading media and entertainment figures from over 60 countries and 500 companies from all sectors of television including internet, mobile and technology. The Academy’s yearly schedule of events includes the prestigious International Emmy® Awards held in New York, The International Emmy® Kids Awards at MIPTV and a series of industry events such as Academy Day, The International Emmy® World Television Festival and Panels on substantive industry topics. The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences recognizes excellence in television produced outside of the United States, as well as US Primetime programs produced in languages other than English, with the prestigious Emmy® Award. Currently celebrating programming across varied areas including: Arts Programming, Current Affairs, Comedy, Documentary, Drama Series, News, Non-Scripted Entertainment, Short-Form Series, Telenovela, and TV Movie/Mini-Series, it also recognizes excellence in Performances and Kids programming. For more information, go to

The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
Eva Obadia, Senior Director, Communications & Partnerships
Tel: 212-489-6969 
The Lippin Group 
Matt Biscuiti 
Tel: +1-212-986-7080