New York, February 25, 2009: Bruce L. Paisner, President & CEO of The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences today announced the appointment of Simon Sutton, President, Programming Distribution and International, HBO, as Secretary of The Academy. The Academy is the world’s largest organization of broadcasters with over 600 members from nearly 70 countries and recognizes excellence in international television programming with The International Emmy® Award.

“We’re pleased to have Simon, a long-standing friend and advocate of The International Academy even more involved with the organization as our Secretary,” said Paisner. “Simon is a respected and experienced industry professional and we look forward to the role he will play in furthering the growth of the Academy and expanding the Emmy’s international reach.”

 “I’m delighted and honored to be asked to further serve the International Academy”, said Sutton.  

As President Programming Distribution and International for Home Box Office, Sutton is responsible for overseeing worldwide distribution of HBO programming through its HBO International, HBO Video, International Television Distribution and Domestic Distribution businesses. Prior to joining HBO, he was EVP, International Television at MGM Worldwide Television Distribution, where he oversaw all sales international and distribution activities for MGM and NBC Studios’ programming in the free-television, pay-television and pay-per-view categories.  

Sutton succeeds 40 year industry veteran Don Taffner, President DLT Entertainment in the position.

Taffner remains on The Academy’s Executive Committee which is also comprised of:  
Ralph Baruch; Kevin Beggs, President, Lionsgate Television; John Cassaday, President & CEO, Corus Entertainment; Fred Cohen, Chairman, The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences and Foundation ; Larry Gershman, Chairman & CEO, World International Network, Michael Lynton, Chairman & CEO, Sony Pictures Entertainment; Gary  Marenzi, Co-President, MGM Worldwide Television; LLC; Steve Ronson, Executive VP, Enterprises, A&E Television Networks; Rainer Siek, President, MT.NY; Blair Westlake, Corporate VP, Media & Entertainment Group, Microsoft; Camille Bidermann-Roizen, SVP & Executive Director, The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

About the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
Founded in 1969, the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is the largest organization of global broadcasters, with over 600 members from nearly 70 countries and over 400 companies. The Academy was chartered with a mission to recognize excellence in television programming produced outside of the United States, and it presents the International Emmy® Award to programs in 15 categories: Arts Programming; Best Performance by an Actress; Best Performance by an Actor; Children & Young People; Comedy; Current Affairs; Documentary; Digital Program: Children & Young People; Digital Program: Fiction; Digital Program: Non-Fiction; Drama Series; News; Non-Scripted Entertainment; Telenovela and TV Movie/Mini-Series.

The Academy is a unique, independent organization comprised of the world’s leading media and entertainment professionals and media leaders who come together to exchange ideas, discuss common issues and promote new strategies for the future development of quality global television programming. The 2009 International Emmy® World Television Festival to be held Saturday and Sunday, November 22 and 23 features unique screenings, panels and presentations from around the world. More information can be found online at  

Press contact:
Eva Obadia, Director, Marketing & Public Relations
The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
T: 1 212 489 6969