Jason Priestley to Host The 38th International Emmy® Awards


NEW YORK, September 21, 2010 – Actor/Director Jason Priestley, who created the role as Brandon Walsh on the iconic hit series Beverly Hills 90210 will host The 38th International Emmy Awards, which will take place on November 22nd, in New York City, announced today Bruce L. Paisner, President  & CEO of The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

During the awards, attended annually by 1,000 leading international media and entertainment executives, The International Academy will present Emmys in ten program categories as well as two special awards. American Idol Judge & Got Talent Executive Producer, Simon Cowell will receive the International Emmy Founders Award while Saturday Night Live Creator & Executive Producer, Lorne Michaels will receive The International Emmy Directorate Award.

“Jason Priestley is a household name for millions of viewers worldwide and we’re delighted that he is joining our celebration of excellence in international television as our host,” said Paisner.

Now in his third decade as a professional performer, Jason Priestley, continues to be one of the most versatile talents in the entertainment business both in front of and behind the camera.  Throughout his career, he has created many memorable characters.  Currently, Priestley is starring as the title character on the HBO Canada dark comedy series Call me Fitz, which he also directs and produces.  Other recent directing credits include Goodnight for Justice and the Made for Television Movies Don’t Cry Now and The Other Woman based on the New York Times Best Selling novels by Joy Fielding.

About The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is a membership based organization comprised of leading media and entertainment figures from over 50 countries and 500 companies from all sectors of television including internet, mobile and technology. The Academy’s yearly schedule of events includes the prestigious International Emmy® Awards Ceremony held in New York, The International Digital Emmy® Awards at MIPTV and a series of industry events such as Academy Day, The International Emmy® World Television Festival and Panels on substantive industry topics. The Academy was chartered with a mission to recognize excellence in television produced outside of the United States and it presents The International Emmy® Awards in the following fifteen categories: Arts Programming; Best Performance by an Actress; Best Performance by an Actor; Current Affairs; Children & Young People; Comedy; Digital Program: Children & Young People; Digital Program: Fiction; Digital Program: Non-Fiction; Documentary; Drama Series; News; Non-Scripted Entertainment; Telenovela; TV Movie/Mini-Series. For more information go to www.iemmys.tv.


The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
Eva Obadia
Director, Marketing & PR
+(1) 212-489-6969

The Lippin Group
Don Ciaramella
+(1) 212-986-7080