NEW YORK, May 20, 2008 – Elisabeth Murdoch, Chief Executive & Chairman of the Shine Group will serve as Gala Chair for the 36th International Emmy® Awards, which will take place on Monday, November 24, 2008 in New York City, announced today Bruce L. Paisner, President & CEO of the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.
“By bringing Reveille under the Shine umbrella, Elisabeth Murdoch has emerged as one of the leading media figures in the UK and the global marketplace,” said Bruce Paisner, President & CEO of The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. ”We look forward to having her as our 2008 Gala Chair.”
Elisabeth Murdoch said: “I’ve long been a supporter of the International Academy’s work to recognize creativity and excellence in global television. The awards gala is the prestigious forum where these achievements are celebrated and as such I am delighted and honored to be its chair this year.” 

Founded by Elisabeth Murdoch in 2001, the Shine Group is the only collection of production companies to span both British and American marketplaces. It encompasses pre-eminent US television production company Reveille, leading independent multi-genre production company, Shine; entertainment specialist Princess Productions, leading factual programme makers Firefly and drama production company Kudos. The group’s distinctive library also includes hit shows such as International Emmy® Award Winners Sugar Rush and Life on Mars as well as Reveille successes Ugly Betty, The Office, The Tudors and worldwide non-scripted hits The Biggest Loser and American Gladiators.

Prior to setting up Shine, Murdoch joined British Sky Broadcasting first as General Manager, before rising to Managing Director, Sky Networks with overall responsibility for Sky’s programming business, group consumer marketing and its news, film and entertainment channels. Whilst there she oversaw the launch of Sky Box Office, the UK’s first pay-per-view service and the creation of Sky Pictures and Sky Productions. She began her career in television at the Nine Network in Australia as a researcher in 1990, later joining Fox Television in Los Angeles as Programme and Promotion Manager for seven stations.  Following this she went to the FX Cable Network as Director of Acquisitions.  In 1995 she started her own company, EP Communications, managing two dominant NBC affiliate television stations KSBW-TV and KSBY-TV. The stations won one national and five Californian Emmy Awards as well as the 1995 Peabody Award for Broadcast Excellence.
In addition to the presentation of the International Emmy® Awards for programming, the Academy will present two special awards. Dick Wolf, one of television’s most prolific writer/producers and the architect of the Law & Order brand, will receive the 2008 International Emmy® Founders Award in recognition of his creative accomplishments for the last 25 years. The International Emmy® Directorate Award will be given to Liu Changle, Chairman & CEO Phoenix Satellite Television for launching and growing Phoenix into a multimedia empire with 5 television channels broadcasting in Mandarin Chinese in over 150 countries around the world.
The 2008 International Emmy® Nominees will be announced at a press conference in Cannes at MIPCOM on Monday, October 13, 2008.  This year’s sponsors, to date, include: Ascent Media, GloboTV, Microsoft, NBC Universal, Phoenix Satellite Television, Reed Midem, Sofitel New York and Los Angeles Hotels and Variety.
The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is the largest organization of global broadcasters, with members from over 65 countries and 400 companies. The Academy was chartered with a mission to recognize excellence in television programming produced outside of the United States, and it presents the International Emmy® Awards to programs in 15 categories: Arts Programming; Best Performance by an Actor; Best Performance by an Actress; Children & Young People; Comedy; Current Affairs; Documentary; Drama Series; Interactive Channel, Interactive Program, Interactive Service, News; Non-Scripted Entertainment, Telenovela and TV Movie/Mini-Series.
The Academy is a unique, independent organization including the world’s television and media leaders who come together to exchange ideas, discuss common issues and promote new strategies for the future development of quality global television programming. Each year, the Academy produces the International Emmy® World Television Festival and The International Emmy® Awards Gala in New York City. The Festival features programming from around the world, and presentations and panels from international producers and directors. The International Emmy® Awards Gala attracts over 1,000 international figures in broadcast, entertainment and media. More information can be found online at www.iemmys.tv. 
# # #
The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
Eva Obadia, Director, Marketing & Public Relations
The Lippin Group
Don Ciaramella
Freud Communications (PR for Shine Group)
Patrick Keegan
00 44 207 580 2626