Acclaimed Creator & Showrunner of Global Hit Series “Succession” to be Honored at 51st International Emmy® Awards Gala, in New York, on
November 20
NEW YORK, October 26, 2023 – The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced today that Jesse Armstrong, one of the great television writers of our time, and the creator and showrunner of Succession, a defining television drama of our era, will receive the 2023 International Emmy® Founders Award at the 51st International Emmy® Awards Gala, on Monday, November 20, 2023 in New York City.

“Since its debut, Succession has entered the cultural zeitgeist – obsessing audiences around the world with its highly original cast of characters and Machiavellian plots,” said International Academy President & CEO, Bruce L. Paisner. “We look forward to honoring Jesse Armstrong’s extraordinary talent and global impact with our Founders Award.”

Armstrong is a British author, screenwriter and producer with nearly two decades of experience in film and television. He is the co-creator of the Channel 4 comedy series Peep Show, Fresh Meat and Babylon. He has also written one of the most acclaimed episodes of British anthology science fiction series Black Mirror: The Entire History of You.

Succession has been universally recognized by the press and global audiences as one of the best television series ever and a golden standard for writing. The series finale, aired on May 28 with the show’s largest audience ever.

Armstrong will accept the Special Emmy®, in New York City, on Monday, November 20th at the International Emmy® Awards black-tie Gala.


About The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is a membership-based organization comprised of leading media and entertainment figures from 60+ countries from all sectors of television including digital, mobile and technology. The International Academy’s yearly schedule of events includes the prestigious International Emmy® Awards held in New York, City and a series of industry events such as Academy Day, the International Emmy® World Television Festival and Panels on substantive industry topics. The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences recognizes excellence in television produced outside of the United States with the prestigious Emmy® Award. Currently celebrating programming across varied areas including: Arts Programming, Current Affairs, Comedy, Documentary, Drama Series, News, Non-Scripted Entertainment, Short-Form Series, Sports Documentary, Telenovela, and TV Movie/Mini-Series, it also recognizes excellence in Performances and Kids programming. For more information, go to

Media Contacts

The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
Eva Obadia, Senior Director, Communications & Partnerships

The Lippin Group
Matt Biscuiti